The District 8-4A All-District girls basketball team has been announced. The Salmen Lady Spartans, the two-time Class 4A state champions, who finished runner up this season falling to Warren Easton 46-42 in the championship game. Salmen’s Lady Spartans dominated the All-District squad with senior Kalani Brown being named the MVP and coach Kevin Anderson being named Coach of the Year. Joining Brown, a Baylor commitment, on the All-District squad were teammates, seniors Deja Starks and Tiara Warren. Lady Spartans’ junior Kayla Sibley also earned recognition along with freshman Arianna Cooks. The SSA Doves placed two players on the All-District squad including senior Megan Ferringa and junior Samantha Zelden. Lakeshore senior Raquel Davis was named along with Pearl River senior Ciara St. Pierre and Franklinton senior Chelsey Armand.
Honorable Mention players included: Salmen’s Amira Bickham and Darnell Webb. Lakeshore’s Julia Dean and Victoria Ross, Pearl River’s Brooke Guttuso and Savannah Walker SSA’s Lizzy Lagarde and Claire Schmitt and Franklinton’s Shaikeria Fabre and Shelby McDonald rounded out the Honorable Mention list. Congratulations to all of the All-District 8-4A team members and the Honorable Mention players for their accomplishments during the regular district season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s