This is Charles. For those of you who listen to the morning show on a regular basis you probably do so because I try to stay out of the way of the music. By that I mean, I try to give out the local info you need, MAYBE I’ll attempt to force a smile on your face, and then I play a song. This works for lots of people because you don’t want to hear some guy drone on forever and it fits me because I am not the best at promoting myself. Well, guess what? I have to slide out of my comfort zone just a bit.

I’m a Real Man of St Tammany. And what that means is I’m working to raise funds for Safe Harbor. Are you familiar with Safe Harbor? In their words…

Safe Harbor is a non-profit, non-government agency in St. Tammany Parish serving women and children who are victims of domestic abuse. We can provide a safe place to stay and a variety of critical support services ranging from crisis intervention, legal advocacy, playgroups, emotional support, and community-based referrals for kids.
Their professional staff and trained volunteers help bridge the gap between victimization and independence. That includes everything from accessing the right social services to finding a job and a new place to live. We’re available 24 hours a day. We’re completely confidential. All services are free with no income eligibility requirement.
Their very mission makes promoting what they do a challenge, since they are charged with hiding the abused and keeping them away from their abusers. So, every year a group of men step in to raise funds on behalf of this non-profit organization. Lucky for me, I have a radio station to help me get this done. I am selling myself and my station, for just about whatever you can dream up, in exchange for your donation to Safe Harbor on my behalf. Want me to tell your significant other how wonderful he or she is for a whole day? Does your child have a birthday and you want to give them a unique gift? It can be done in exchange for a donation. Want to align your business with a fee-good project like this one? I’ll shout about you from the rooftops in exchange for your donation. Do you already have an event planned and need an extra push from a marketing standpoint? I Can Do That!
So, let me promote something, tell a story, help you out, whatever you can come up with, all while benefiting Safe Harbor. If you have an idea that needs a little help, or if you know exactly what you want to do and need to talk specifics and planning, then please email me at charles at lake 947 dot com. Put Real Man in the subject line and I’ll get with you ASAP.
And if you just want to kick in a few dollars for the cause, you can vote for me by clicking on the banner below. THANK YOU!!!
logo votes
You can also see all about Safe Harbor and the rest of the Real Men by clicking here… Real Men and Safe Harbor

Leave a Reply

